What is the scoring system of the CMA exam?

The CMA test is divided into two sections, both of which must be completed and passed individually. Each section includes 100 multiple-choice questions and two essays. Each one is given the same grade: Multiple-choice questions account for 75% of the overall score, while essay scenarios account for 25%.

NOTE: You will not be allowed to proceed to the essay portion if you do not correctly answer at least 50% of the multiple-choice questions. Exam scores are scaled from 0 to 500, depending on the difficulty of the questions on your CMA exam. To pass, you’ll need a 360 score but bear in mind that a scaled score of 360 does not always translate to 72 per cent. For a more challenging exam, an applicant could only get 68 per cent of the total points available but still get a passing scaled score of 360.

If you enroll today you will get 15% discount

    or Call Us: 9205207573

    When do CMA scores get released?

    CMA exam testing month CMA score release
    January March
    February April
    May July
    June August
    September November
    October December

    What do you mean by the exam equating and score scaling?

    The purpose of the CMA exam is to qualify the candidate to handle the CMA duties. The CMA exam is structured to ensure your skills are tested. Scaled scoring must not distract you. Be sure to perform well and not be discouraged by scoring patterns. AKPIS can help you understand all about the CMA exam score, patterns, and help you with the tips and tricks to excel in the exam.


    The Content Specification Outline is used to describe what is on the test. The report lists each subject area and assigns a “Descriptive Level” to each one, indicating how well you did. Satisfactory (S), Marginal (M), and Unsatisfactory (U) are the three descriptive stages.

    • The highest possible score is an “S.” It doesn’t mean you didn’t make any mistakes; rather, it means you have a clear grasp of the subject matter. If you have to retake the test, a quick examination of this content can suffice.
    • An “M” signifies a merely passing grade. You probably grasp the fundamental principles but find it difficult to put them into practice at a higher level. Read through all applicable outline content and take practise quizzes on a regular basis.
    • The letter “U” encompasses a vast variety of possibilities. You may have had a U because of a bad day and missed the Marginal by a question or two. It’s even possible that you skipped them all (but not likely!). If you earn a U in a content area, you must build and follow a comprehensive study schedule.

    AKPIS helps students realize their accounting dream and land up high paying jobs. We extend the best faculty, GLEIM study material, regular tests, performance review sessions, personalized coaching, and so much more. Enrol with us now to start your accounting journey.

    What is the pass rate for the CMA exam?

    The CMA exam saw significant changes in 2020, and as a result, 2020 pass rates could be similarly afftected. We are already seeing an increase in the pass rates for CMA Part 1. You can see the pass rates from the new exam below:

    2020 Quarter 1 Pass Rates
    CMA 1 45%
    CMA 2 45%

    These score show the average pass rate for CMA Part 1 has benefited from these changes, which is good news for candidates moving forward. Prior to the exam changes, the pass rate for Part 1 of the CMA exam was around 36%, and the pass rate for Part2 was around 50%. Pass rates have only fluctuated slightly from 2015-2019

    CMA Part 1 Pass Rate CMA Part 2 Pass Rate
    36.25 50.5%

    More Courses Your Might Like

    US CPA Course

    US Chartered accountant course comprises of 4 exams within 12 months timeline.

    US CMA Course

    US CMA course is ideal for management accountant professionals. It comprises of 2 exams, 9-10 months timeline.

    CIA Courses

    The CIA certification makes you more appreciated in audit field. The Certified Internal Auditor credential has risen in importance as worldwide demand has increased.


    The EA Exam is known as the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE), it is a three-part exam administered by Prometric on behalf of the Internal Revenue Service.